Monday, October 16, 2006

Quiz - 3 - Answers

Hari OM,

Here are the answers to last week’s quiz. A total of 5 people responded and the answers are collected in the attached document for reference.

All questions and answers offered to AMMA.

1.Name the four places in different directions where Acharya established centers of learning (mutts) in India.
Answer: Sringeri in Karnataka in the south,
Dwaraka in Gujarat in the west,
Puri in Orissa in the east,
Jyotirmath (Joshimath) near Badarinath in Uttaranchal in the north.
2. Name the four main disciples of Acharya who presided over these four mutts. (if corresponding mutt is also mentioned then good, else only names will also do)
Answer: Sureshwaracharya - Sarada peetha SringeriHastamalakacharya - Dwaraka pitham , DwarakaPadmapadacharya - Govardhana peetham, PuriTotakacharya - Jyothirmatha, Badarinath
3. Fill up the blanks
i)Isha Upanishad: Yajur veda:: Chandogya Upanishad : ________Answer: Sama veda
ii)Mandukya upanishad: Atharvana veda:: Brihadaranyaka upanishad:_______Answer: Shukla Yajurveda

4. Match the following
a) Hastamalakeeyam iv) Hastamalakab) Tattva bodha i) Sankaracharyac) Bhamati ii) Vachaspati Misrad) Panchapaadika iii) Padma paada

5) Mention the 4 famous Mahavakyas.
TAT TVAM ASI from Chandogya Upanishad 6.8.7 and 6.9.4
PRAJNAANAM BRAHMA from Aitareya Upanishad 3.3AHAM BRAHMA ASMI from Brihadaranyaka Upanishad 1.4.10AYAM ATMA BRAHMA from Brihadaranyaka Upanishad 2.5.19 and Mandukya Upanishad
6) Shoonyavaada is a section of ______
Answer: Buddhism, this school was propounded by Nagarjuna
7) What are the Aavarana and Vikshepa aspects of Maya? One line answers will be fine.
Answers: Avarana is the veiling power of Maya. It veils the reality i.e. the real nature of Self
and vikehspa is the projecting power which projects or superimposes non reality on reality.

Also refer to Laghu vasudeva mananam chapter 1, Panchadashi chapter 1 for more detailed explanation on these.

8) Which are the three types of lakshanas? Just mentioning of names will do. Explanations with examples or one line definitions are better.
The three ways of defining are thus. Let us take the example of Brahman itself..
Vyaavritta lakshana- Distinguishing one thing from other clearly and thus defining, the example is the ‘neti neti’ way, of pointing out Brahman as different from all the illusory objects of worldThatastha lakshana – This is the relative definition. Example is Brahman is explained as the cause and substratum of all creation.
Svaroopa lakshana - The very nature is taken as definition, like Brahman is verily Sat Chit and Ananda.

9) What is triputi?Answers: The triad, i.e. the subject, object and the medium or the action between them.
In case of gaining knowledge it is the known, knower and knowledge, in case of action, the subject, object of action and the action.

10) Mention the three levels of reality as per Advaita.
Answers:Prathibaasika Satyam or temporary reality: Reality of the dream world experienced as well as the illusory experiences like the rope-snake, nacre-silver etc.Vyavahaarika Satyam or empirical reality: reality of the world experienced in the waking state. It is also illusory and temporary only but relative. Paramaarthika Satyam or absolute reality: where there is only one truth and there is nothing but Non dual Self.

Requesting someone from the group to take up the next quiz.

Also pardon all for the break in Atma Bodha learning as I will be on leave the rest of week.

Hari OM

With regards,
Mallika R
What you have is God's gift to you and what you do with what you have is your gift to God


Post a Comment

<< Home